Fun Things to Do in Utah

Bookmark and Share

0 comments

Whether you take your kids climbing on red rock cliffs or spend the afternoon exploring dinosaur bones, you will find much to do in Utah.

Free Fun

Not all attractions have to be expensive. Consider the BYU Museum of Paleontology (http://cpms.byu.edu/ESM/) in Provo, for instance, which houses one of the top five Jurassic Period collections in the world, and is open free of charge. While on the dinosaur theme, consider taking the kids to the Dinosaur National Monument and Quarry Visitor Center (http://www.nps.gov/dino/) near Jensen. The Utah Museum of Natural History (http://umnh.utah.edu/home) in Salt Lake City is also free.

Educational Fun

Salt Lake City’s Gateway Mall has a children’s museum inside. Discovery Gateway (http://www.discoverygateway.org/) invites younger children to learn as they play. Even though it is in a mall, it has 60,000 square feet of fun. Ogden’s Treehouse Museum (www.treehousemuseum.org) also offers hands-on learning for kids, encouraging them to “step into a story” and learn through literature. If you want your kids to learn about life as it once was, consider a visit to the Museum of Ancient Life (http://www.thanksgivingpoint.org) in Thanksgiving Point. Kids particularly like the hands-on fossil dig. Some things in Utah are not centered on fossils and dinosaurs. Take your kids to the Clark Planetarium (http://www.clarkplanetarium.org/) in Salt Lake City to learn more about the stars.

Environmental Fun

Utah has several national parks that draw guests to see the breathtaking geologic formations that make this part of the country so beautiful. Zion National Park (http://www.utah.com/nationalparks) is the oldest one in the state, and you will find numerous spots to hike here. Take your kids to the Zion Canyon to see its stunning vistas. The brilliant pink cliffs of Bryce Canyon National Park (http://www.utah.com/nationalparks) are another popular option. If you want to see wildlife, head to Salt Lake City and the Hogle Zoo (www.hoglezoo.org).

Seasonal Fun

When summer hits, plan to visit the Utah Valley to see the Freedom Festival Stadium of Fire (http://www.freedomfestival.org/), one of the biggest Fourth of July fireworks productions in the country. Cornbelly’s Corn Maze and Pumpkin Fest (http://www.cornbellys.com/) in Thanksgiving Point is a popular fall activity. When Christmas hits, head to Salt Lake City to see Christmas Utah (http://www.christmasutah.com/), a spectacular light display.

Just for Mom Fun

If your idea of a great “mom” night is shopping, then you need to visit The Gateway (www.shopthegateway.com) in Salt Lake City. This is the premier shopping destination in the state, featuring two levels of stores that open to a lovely outdoor shopping district. If you need more than just an afternoon away, consider a visit to the Red Mountain Spa (http://redmountainspa.com/), one of the area’s top destination spas.

More Fun Things To Do In Other States

If you enjoyed reading this post you can discuss it on our Visit our Forums
or leave a comment below.

More Single Moms Resources

Leave a Comment

Join The Single Mom Community